Lime Crime Venus Palette | A Review With Swatches

IMG_9527

This palette has been hovering in the back of my mind for a reaalllyyy long time. I honestly don’t know why it has taken me so long to just blumin’ order it but I tend to do this; I want something a lot but then don’t get it as to avoid spending money and instead buy other things I don’t really want?! The logic is lacking! Anyway rant over..

The packaging is cutsie but somehow not too cheesy that you’d want to instantly depot the shadows, a hassle we’d all like to avoid. It feels pretty robust; think naked palette minus the suedeyness and it has a pretty decent mirror so I’m thinking it will be a handy travel palette.

IMG_9529 IMG_9531 IMG_9536

You could go subtle for daytime or really intense and smokey which is something not too many palettes technically offer. I often find that a basic shimmery highlight or dark brown matte is missing and I end up using more than one palette at a time. This palette has both so that’s a good start!

The Venus palette has the shades you’d need for any type of look;

Aura – a really great glowy highlight

Shell & Venus – two pretty shimmers for the lid

Creation – a matte warm crease/blending shade

Divine – a matte cool crease/blending shade

Muse & Icon – two mattes for defining the outer v and liner

And then they got funky and added Rebirth which is more of a satin and is bright

Venus Palette Swatches

From left to right: Venus, Shell, Aura, Creation, Icon, Rebirth, Divine, Muse.

The formula is really good and although I did find Rebirth pretty difficult to blend; it just required a little more effort and a good brush. I would say that if you are heavy handed these shades can get a bit messy since they are so pigmented, but as long as you have a clean brush to hand all should be well!

I created this look below using this palette and a couple of other shadows on the lid. On the inner lid I used the MAC Dazzleshadow in Boom Boom Room (kind of an odd name am I right?) and then on the centre I used Makeup Geek’s Foiled shadow in Flamethrower. I wanted a gradient towards that intense outer v for which I used the shade Muse, my fave from the palette 🙂 I’ve noticed that the MAC shadow just doesn’t show up as awesome in photo’s as it looks in person so writing up that review will be a challenge!

Overall I would say that this is a good buy and I am very happy that I took the plunge. If you’d like to step away from the neutral palette’s I recommend giving this one a go. I got mine from Lime Crime and payed £34 in total ($52) and no other taxes or charges were added upon delivery to the UK! I should add that they packaged it really nicely and added in a free glitter, it’s the little touches 🙂

cropped-claudiafoxunderblog1.png

8 comments

Feel free to comment below

