Nars|Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Bettina

 

The Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Bettina is the first higher end lip pencil type product I’ve tried. I did want to give their red shades a try but as I already have a few bold reds (courtesy of Revlon) I decided a nuder shade would be more wearable. Bettina on me comes up more purple than the swatch (my lips are quite red so lip products always look a different shade on me, grrr) but I still like it as a more mauvey nude.

The formula goes on smoothly and is as the name suggests a velvet matte finish. In all honesty it’s not as matte as I thought it was going to be but that is more than likely due to my lack of research. Unfortunately I don’t find it to be at all long lasting, have a drink and its pretty much left my lips entirely. I find it drys out my lips a bit, even though when you first apply it feels kind of moisturising.

Although I do like the shade and I will obviously still use it I am a tad disappointed, especially for the price tag. And I have more recently found a matte lip product from the drugstore that puts this to shame by means of wear time. Post on that will be coming up soon.

What do you guys think of the Nars Velvet Matte formula? 

underblog

One comment

Feel free to comment below

