New|Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in Standout

I have been desiring these for months due to seeing them raved about by multiple american Youtubers and the lucky UK bloggers that got to test them early. We’ve had to wait a while but going on the one that I bought the other day these are going to be a UK hit too. The Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms come in numerous shades with the shade Standout being the most obvious choice to me as I’ve been wanting a matte red lipstick for while.

Above is an Instagram picture of me wearing Standout (click on the images to view them larger), I figured this is easiest way to show you how it looks on. It dries to a super bold dark red so I wore this with just a little bronzer (can’t use much at the moment, as you can tell from the photo I am at my palest of pale), a cream contour (courtesy of Illamasqua’s cream pigment in hollow), mascara and UD’s virgin as an inner corner highlight to brighten my eyes up.

These come in a chubby stick pencil form and are super easy to apply. I was surprised when I first applied these as they are extremely pigmented! One swipe round the lips is all you really need. They do sort of set but not in a long lasting lipstick kind of way as you can still rub your lips together and they feel silky smooth. I haven’t found this product drying on my lips at all so in that sense they are very similar to the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains. On the first night I wore it I was super lazy with my makeup removal and woke up with this shade still pretty much in tact so I think we can confirm that they last a long time on the lips.

They smell like mint as the original Revlon balms do (I have 4 shades of those and love them) but I find that the smell dissipates quickly. These retail at £7.99 and are officially available in Boots (where I purchased mine) and I believe Superdrug too. The next shade of these I am going to buy is Sultry which is an everyday muted pink shade and probably the other red from the range Striking as well.

underblog claudia text 12

Feel free to comment below

