Lips|Coloured Balms

Tinted lip balms are popular among the masses for obvious reasons. They add colour and moisture in one and you can re-apply it with your eyes shut. There is an awful lot of them out there but these are the four that I have been using for a long time and as you can tell I have a thing for red..

Swatches from left to right: Soap and Glory A Great Kisser Lip Moisture Balm in Chocolate Cherry, Soap and Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Gloss Stick in Plum Jam, Burt’s Bees Lip Balm in Pomegranate, E.L.F Studio SPF 15 Lip Balm in Rose.

First up the Great Kisser from Soap and Glory. This stuff smells a-m-a-z-i-n-g if you love chocolate and cherry scented products like I do. It leans on the more glossy/kind of sticky end of lip balms but this just adds some colour longevity, not a bad thing in my book. It’s a pretty pigmented pinky red and does actually moisturise your lips.

Another product by Soap and Glory (yep I am a little obsessed with them) is the Sexy Mother Pucker Gloss Stick. Obviously as you can tell by the name this is more of a lip gloss but in my head this comes under the same category as lip balms because it is super moisturising. It also gives amazing colour pay-off giving a very pigmented deep berry red shade to the lips. The smell of this quite a sweet vanilla which usually I’d dislike but it doesn’t bother me here at all. This I’d say lasts less than the great kisser balm but is less sticky.

Next is the least ”tinted” of the bunch but is the most lip balm like in texture. Personally the Burt’s Bees lip balms are the best stick form of lip balm I’ve found (I love the mint one too) and the Pomegranate shade gives the best colour pay off out of the bunch. Saying that, as you can tell by the swatch it’s more of a sheer hint of red than the others mentioned. It smells funnily enough of pomegranate and as you can tell by the lack of label this one tends to spend a lot of time somewhere in my handbag.

And lastly is an E.L.F Studio SPF 15 Lip Balm in the shade Rose. This lip balm gives me pretty much a full on red lip (my lips are quite red already which is super annoying for nude lip looks) and whilst it isn’t as moisturising as the other’s it doesn’t dry out the lips like a bold red lipstick would. It smells minty which I love (I’ve got a thing for mint everything) and although the longevity of this one is not on par with the others it is super easy to re-apply. And that is after all the whole point in this post!

underblog claudia text 12

Feel free to comment below

