Lips|Brave Bolds

In this second instalment (see part one here) we will be looking into a small selection of the numerous bold products I own. I whittled the amount down to just five so here are my choices..

o4

c5

s6

From left to right on all images – Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in 045 Romantic, Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer in 301 Galaxy, Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in ManicRevlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in 040 Rendezvous, Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick in 23 Grenade.

As mentioned in my Natural Nudes post from yesterday I am a big fan of the Revlon Balm Stains and I have two of the more bold shades here to mention. First up is the shade furthest on the left (045 Romantic) which is a orange toned red. It isn’t very dark so I find that I can wear this in the daytime without feeling overdone. Then there is the shade Rendezvous which is basically full on orange in the tube but comes up a tad more red and much darker on my lips than in the swatch above (second in from the right). This is a shade I find more suitable to wear in the warmer months and with a very natural makeup look it looks great. I think I may be in need of some teeth whitening before hand though.

The Rimmel Apocalips have been well received by most makeup hungry girls but if I’m honest I was a bit underwhelmed with the product at first. I found that the trick to these is not to apply too much at first, in fact barely any, just enough to stain the lips. Then once that is set I apply another layer to get it up to a full opaque lip colour. This shade is a deep berry plum, definitely one to wear with neutral/nude eye makeup but looks great for an evening look.

Next is the Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Manic and my personal favourite of the bunch. The swatch shows it to be a berry pink but it leans more red in person. On my lips it shows up quite a bit more red see here and I love the colour. To be honest I could wear this shade all the time, it’s that awesome! The formulation of these lipsticks is not as hydrating as the others featured in this post so I always apply a little lip balm before hand (usually the Nuxe one) and they last a long time on me, even through eating. I currently own two shades (as shown in this post here) but will defiantly be buying some more of these. I’m thinking of trying some of the nude shades from this range. These retail at £15 which I think is great for the quality of the product, the expensive looking packaging and for a higher end branded lipstick.

Lastly we have the Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick in 23 Grenade which is, I think the boldest of the bunch. Shade 23 is described as a pomegranate red but on me and also swatched it looks more of a bright bold pink. The formulation of these lipsticks is amazing, they are very glossy (you can skip the lipgloss) and super easy to apply. No need to worry about dry lips with this one either because they don’t dry out the lips at all. Due to their ”glossyness” they don’t stay on all that long but they do leave a decent stain on the lips and re-applying is nice and smooth.

underblog claudia text 12

*The background featured in these photo’s is one of my own images. Please click the photography link in the menu above to have a browse at my personal photography website if you like the image featured above.

4 comments

Feel free to comment below

