Lips|Natural Nudes

Here is the first instalment of a three part series focused around my favourite lip products. Today we will be delving into daytime nudes and pinks.

liptopson1

openlip

From left to right on all images – Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in 001 Honey, Bourjois Rouge Edition in 02 Beige Trench, L’oreal Paris Rouge Caresse in 103 Sweet Berry, Giorgio Armani Rouge Ecstasy in 100 Androgino, Maybelline ColorSensational Cream Gloss in 622 Nude Pearl. 

The Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in 001 Honey is I’m sure a firm favourite with all of my fellow chubby stick crazed fans out there. Honey is the perfect mauve pink shade but it does look quite a bit darker on my lips than it does swatched. As you can tell since the name has completely worn off this one is very well loved. The formula of these are great, very pigmented and not at all drying but they also set like a stain. You don’t need a mirror to apply these either as they are basically a pigmented lip balm. This one is my handbag makeup staple and the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stainare probably my drugstore fave.

I haven’t seen the Bourjois Rouge Edition lipsticks mentioned an awful lot in the world of beauty blogs so when I picked this up a while ago I didn’t expect it to be quite so good. This lippie is like a traditional lipstick but more of a buttery texture. It goes on very smooth and is pretty pigmented. The finish I’d say is leaning towards a satin and looks pretty natural on the lips. This shade 02 Beige Trench looks super pale in the tube but when swatched as you can see above (second swatch from left) is a cool pinky nude. I tend to pare this up with the ColorSensational Cream Gloss in Nude Pearl, as shade which I believe has been discontinued as I can’t find it anywhere other than Amazon. It’s a shame if that’s the case as this is my favourite shade of lipgloss. It is not sticky at all, actually has a good colour pay off and smells delicious. I’ve found some shades of these online at Superdrug.

The L’oreal Paris Rouge Caresse in 103 Sweet Berry is a very sheer lipstick but the formula is described as ”kissably soft light-weight feeling colour” so I’d say that sounds about right. The swatch above (third in from left) is a few swipes worth. I find this to be great for an everyday sheer colour and the shade is literally my lips but better. The only downfall of these is that they don’t last very long on the lips so it’s touch-up galore on this one.

Last up we have the gorgeous Giorgio Armani Rouge Ecstasy in 100 Androgino. I read about this bad boy on Liana Beauty and had been wanting a high end lippie (these retail for £25 at Selfridges) for a long time so chose this one to be one of my christmas presents last year (as talked about here and worn in my website photo to the right of this post). The shade is literally the perfect nude for me, not too brown not too pink and the product itself is not drying on the lips. I find this one to last quite a bit longer on the lips than the others mentioned above (bar the revlon balm stain for obvious reasons) but it’s not necessarily long lasting either, if that makes any sense. I am obsessed with the packaging of this one, it’s in my favourite colour and the lid is magnetic! Super luxurious. I’ll be buying more shades of these very soon I’m sure.

underblog claudia text 12

*The background featured in these photo’s is one of my own images. Please click the photography link in the menu above to have a browse at my personal photography website if you like the image featured above.

4 comments

Feel free to comment below

