Beauty Favourites 2013|Makeup, Nails & Tools

These are my favourite products for the whole year of 2013. I am splitting this post in to two for easier reading so the Skincare, Hair and Body favourites will follow this Makeup section post shortly after. I won’t be talking a lot about each product here because it would end up being an insanely large post that no-one will want to read! So feel free to ask questions on products down below this post. I’ve also included a few links to posts I have relevant. Oh and by the way HAPPY NEW YEAR!!     😀

Face Primers – L’Oreal Paris Skin Perfection Magic Touch Instant Blur. I have been using this to even out the texture of my skin, especially on blemishes and the Laura Mercier Oil Free Primer to rid of any dryness and prepare the skin for foundation

Foundation – Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation (shade Vanilla) gives my skin a glowing healthy look and its great when my skin is a tad on the dry side.

Concealer – The Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer (shade Ivory) was mainly used for the under eyes and down the nose and is a great highlighting concealer.

Powder – Soap and Glory One Heck of a Blot is a light transparent non cakey powder and I love it.

Bronzer – The Body Shop Honey Bronzing Powder in Medium Matte 03 is perfect to recreate a sun kissed look without looking orange. It also comes in numerous shades.

Cream Blush – Stila Convertible Colour in Peony is the only cream blush i’ve tried bar the Revlon one (which was awful). I used this a lot during the summer as it gives the most natural dewy flush of the blushers I own.

Contour – Contouring is not something I bother with on a daily basis but when I do I usually use the Illamasqua Cream Pigment in Hollow, it’s good for pale skinned girls because it’s not at all orange like a bronzer can be.

Highlighter – ELF Baked Blush in Pinktastic is supposed to be a blush but on my skin tone it is more of a very pale pinky highlight and and I used this all year, every day to get some glow.

Eyeshadow Base – At the beginning of 2013 I used up a sample of the Urban Decay Eyeshadow Original Primer Potion and it works well for me so I bought the full sized version, simples.

Powder Eyeshadows – These are my most used shades this year from various palettes and also individuallyVirgin, Naked and Buck from the Urban Decay Naked 1 Palette, Velvet Revolver and Push Up from the Too Faced Natural Eye Kit, Urban Decay Tease (Matt Taupe), MAC Swiss Chocolate and Antiqued.

Palette’s – Charlotte Tilbury Colour Coded Eyeshadow Palette in Dolce Vita is a gift I got recently and I’ve been using it a lot since, it’s perfect for a winter smokey eye (see my post on this HERE& the Urban Decay Naked 1 Palette which I used pretty much every day in 2013.

Cream Eyeshadow – Maybelline 24HR Colour Tattoo in On and On Bronze is the only cream eyeshadow I’ve tried but people rave about these for a reason. They last forever on me and I have oily eyelids!

Eye Liner – On a daily basis I have been using the Rimmel Scandal Eyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal in Nude on the inner rim of my eyes and it makes me look much more awake and hides any redness. 

Mascara – The Maybelline The Rocket Volum’ Express in Waterproof Black is the perfect mascara for me because it keeps my straight lashes curled all day but I do use a specific eye makeup remover such as this one because it is very waterproof!

Brow Products – For the past month or so I have been trying out brow products which is something I never thought to bother with before. The Anastasia Beverley Hills Brow Wiz in Brunette and the Maybelline Brow Drama in Dark Brown are what I have tried so far and they work well for me (see my review HERE)

Lipstick – Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Manic which is a bold pinky red (see my post on this HERE)

Giorgio Armani Rouge Ecstasy Lipstick in 100 which is the most perfect “high end” nude lipstick (see my post on this HERE).

The Shu Uemura Eyelash Curlers are the only curlers that actually curl my eyelashes and are well worth the money.

Brushes – I bought this Eco Tools Retractable Kabuki Brush to pop in my bag for touch ups, which funnily enough I don’t ever really bother with but I still use this brush as it’s super soft and very useful for powdering. For base I have been using the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush for foundation all time as I prefer it over the Buffing Brush. I have been using the ELF Flawless Concealer Brush which is good for more liquid concealers like the Rimmel one I mentioned. I use the Real Techniques Contour Brush for highlighting because it’s a great size and density for that use. For bronzing I use the Eco Tools Blush Brush that I got in a set a while back, it’s super soft, kind of flat and not too big so it’s perfect for more of a contoured bronzing look (mainly used with the Body Shop bronzer). The ELF Studio Blush Brush was used a lot for blusher in 2013 but nearer the end of the year I found other ELF brushes more suitable (it is one from their mineral brush range which does’t seem to be there anymore, but it’s basically an angled blush brush) For eyes I used the MAC 217 or my new very similar favourite the Zoeva 227 Soft Definer which I find is much softer than the MAC version.

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat over Essie Cocktail Bling was my favourite nail combo in 2013 along with Maybelline Forever Strong in Mint For Life and numerous shades of the amazingly long lasting Barry M High Shine Gel Effect Nail Polish (Mainly Satsuma, Lychee, Prickly Pear, and Blueberry).

underblog claudia text 12

One comment

Feel free to comment below

