Summer|Beauty Favourites 2013

So here we are 7 months into the year already, talk about life flying by! (scary) So over the past couple of months I have spent a fair amount of money on all summer beauty related things and I figured i’d let you what they were and give my opinion on them. So here they are and there is quite a few….

The Body Shop Honey Bronze Bronzing Powder and EcoTools Recycled Retractable Kabuki Brush

I bought this bronzer mainly because I really needed a new matt bronzer (the packaging on my old one broke recently) but also because it looks sooooo cute in the pan. As you can see it has this lovely honeycomb pattern on it!

This is the perfect bronzer for someone who doesn’t want to spend loads of money on one bronzer but still wants a quality product as it retails at only £13. It’s a really finely milled powder that comes in numerous shades (4 to be exact). I chose the shade 03 Medium Matte to try and match up my face to rest of my skin. Since the sun’s been shining I’ve been spending a fair mount of time sunbathing and for some odd reason the tan never hits my face, anyway this definitely does the job at disguising that. I’ve been using my EcoTools Kabuki Brush and shoving it in my bag for touch ups. By means of wear time I have pretty oily skin and its been boiling so I have been applying a dusting on my cheeks, nose, chin and forehead I’d say around 3 times a day for the past week but the Honeycomb pattern is still holding up well so far, so thumbs up from me.

Soap and Glory One Heck of a Blot and Soap & Glory Kabuki Brush

This powder has been mentioned on many a blog I’m sure but I figured since it is so fab and I’ve been using it so much recently i’d share it with you anyway. I’ve bought a few Soap and Glory beauty products recently (more below) but this is probably my favourite, It’s not noticeably powdery on my skin and seems to last all day which is brilliant for me because of my oily skin. I’ve been applying this powder with their mini kabuki brush which is adorable! It’s really soft and doesn’t irritate my sensitive skin. It’s also small enough to get around my nose and to set my under eye concealer.

Soap and Glory It’s About Prime eyeshadow underbase in Bright Light and Urban Decay Matt Eyeshadow in Tease

I’d been wanting to buy a new eyeshadow primer for a while and to be honest I was set on buying another Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion but it’s hard to resist the 3for2 offer whenever boots have it so I chose this primer (along with the products mentioned above) in the light shade. I was a bit skeptical wether this would work as I bought it on a whim and didn’t do my research but I was pleasantly surprised. The product doesn’t sting my hyper sensitive eyes and helps my eyeshadows stay put all day minus creasing so it fulfils it’s purpose and it’s cheaper than the pricier Urban Decay one! (£8 in boots rather then £15 for UD)

Recently I have been using this with the Urban Decay eyeshadow in the shade Tease, a matt purple/taupe shade along with a few of the shades from the Naked (1) palette and my recently purchased Too Faced natural eyeshadow palette (review coming up soon). I love the colour as its perfect for blending into the crease and outer V to add subtle definition and as this is the only shade from the Naked 2 Palette I was interested in I now don’t have to go any buy that, every penny (or should I pounds) counts!

Stila Convertible Colour in Peony

My first cream blush that I purchased was the Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in Pinched. Unfortunately it barely shows up on my skin and I do not have a dark complexion, I have to really pack it on for it to show at all and then my cheeks just feel sticky and well just eww. So I was on the hunt and a while ago was in one of those *I need to buy something now* kind of moods and just grabbed it and ran for the tills. Now firstly I’d like to say it is not cheap, each of these blushes come up at £17, not a bargain but in my opinion well worth the price.

I’ve found that it’s best applied with the Real Techniques Stippling Brush or any stippling brush to be honest but it does work well with the fingers too just needs a bit more blending as it’s extremely pigmented. That’s another thing you barely need to touch it and that’s all you need, the pigment is strong so not so sure how it would be for the very pale ladies out there. I however love it and am very tempted to buy other shades! You can also use it on the lips as a kind of tinted balm, hence the name, and it comes up as a pale nudey pink on mine.

Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler and Maybelline The Rocket Mascara in black (Waterproof)

I have incredibly straight lashes, if I curl them and don’t apply mascara in seconds they go completely flat, it is, at times incredibly frustrating but since finding these too gems all’s been well in the lash department. The Shu Uemura eyelash curler curls them instantly and the waterproof mascara by Maybelline keeps them up there 🙂

One thing I’d like to point out is that this mascara is extremely waterproof, by that I mean several of my eye makeup removers failed to remove it. Don’t fret though because I found a technique, use a small amount of your usual kitchen type Virgin Olive Oil on a cotton pad (don’t worry you won’t go blind or anything) and hold it on your lashes for about 30 seconds or until you feel it soften up and then you can use your usual cleanser to get rid of the oil and mascara remains. Alls well!

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation in the shade Vanilla, Essie polish in the colour Cocktail Bling, Maybelline’s Super Stay 7 Day gel polish in the shade Mint for Life and Barry M Gel Nail Paints

For my base I have mainly been using my Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation in the shade Vanilla applied with the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush, it gives a good coverage but still looks like skin, smells nice and this shade fits me perfectly. It works best for me using the Expert Face Brush because i’ve found if you buff it in too much (I usually use the Real Techniques Buffing Brush for other bases) it tends to buff away completely and not give that much coverage if that makes sense. I’ve been setting that with the recent Soap and Glory purchase above or my Rimmel Match Perfection loose powder in Translucent if I can be bothered to faff around with lose powder! But if full on foundation isn’t a goer, what with the recent heat wave and such, I usually reach for my Dr Jart+ Regenerating Beauty Balm which I apply like a face moisturiser with my hands, adding a little more to my bad bits. It’s pretty good coverage but as it’s like a BB cream it does tend to get a little shiny so with this powder is a must.

The nail polish’s that I have been loving recently are Essie polish in the colour Cocktail Bling (a purple toned grey), Maybelline’s 7 Day polish in the shade Mint for Life and the Barry M Gel Nail Paints in the shades Lilac, Lychee (perfect nude, especially with tanned hands), Light Blue and Passion Fruit. With a top coat of Seche Vete these last me all week and normally my nails last 2/3 days max! I also brought this Maxi dress from New look a couple of weeks ago and I love it, I’ve never owned a maxi dress before and apart from it being kind of awkward to walk in at times it looks really summery and floaty. It’s also strapless so less of that dreaded strap tan line.

Estee Lauder SENSUOUS Eau de Parfum 50 ML (£49)

This is a perfume I bought recently as I had used up all of my Gucci Premiere. Its called Estee Lauder SENSUOUS Eau de Parfum and I chose to get this in 50ml as it’s more affordable in the long run! (makes sense in my head) I am extremely bad at describing scents so click the name to see the description that they have for it. It’s basically a summery, slightly sweet floral scent that isn’t too overpowering with just the right amount of femininity. Its the perfect summer scent for someone that isn’t into super sweet perfumes and wants something a bit more sophisticated.

Let me know all your recent favourites and if you like mine. Thanks for reading and I hope you’re having a great summer.underblog claudia text 12

Feel free to comment below

