Chicken Wrapped in Prosciutto With Roasted Tomatoes, Mash & Spinach Salad

Today I thought I’d share something non-makeup related because even though we all love reading and writing about makeup I don’t want my blog to be just makeup related. Just so you know I’m not a fancy three course meal Michelin star cook. I just cook what I know and I know what I like. I’m a big fan of Italian food so that’s what I generally go towards.

Anyway onto the food. This meal is super easy to cook and to me it’s really yummy. It fills you up but you don’t that overfilled feeling that you get with say, pasta or pizza and there is some healthiness in there too. My boyfriend even gave it the seal of approval! So I’m going to list the ingredients below and give a bullet point run down of how it’s done.

Chicken Wrapped in Prosciutto With Roasted Tomatoes, Mash and Spinach Salad1Chicken Wrapped in Prosciutto With Roasted Tomatoes, Mash and Spinach Salad2Chicken Wrapped in Prosciutto With Roasted Tomatoes, Mash and Spinach Salad3 Chicken Wrapped in Prosciutto With Roasted Tomatoes, Mash and Spinach Salad4

I made this to serve just two people so if it’s for a family feel free to double or triple up the ingredients listed below. If you don’t eat red meat just leave out the prosciutto the chicken will taste just as good with the seasoning you’ll be giving it. Trust me I’ve tried it.

2 Medium sized Chicken Breasts|Enough slices of Prosciutto to wrap around the chicken breasts (I used 2 each piece) |2 Large Tomatoes cut in half|2 Medium Sized Potatoes peeled & chopped up small|Half A pack of Spinach washed|Half a pack of Feta chopped into tiny cubes|Green Olives chopped up.

4 Crushed Garlic Cloves|A few dollops of Butter to melt|A handful of Basil Leaves chopped up small OR a tablespoon of Dried Basil|Olive Oil|Salt and Pepper.

  • Turn the oven on to 200°c (392°F) and get out a deepish oven tray.
  • Place the tomatoes inside up in the tray and season with lots of salt, some pepper and little olive oil.
  • Mix the butter with the basil, garlic cloves and some salt and pepper then melt in the microwave. Then dip either side of the chicken breasts into the butter mixture in a bowl and drizzle any left over them whilst they’re in the pan. Then wrap each one individually in enough Prosciutto to cover the whole piece of meat.
  • Place the tray in the middle of the oven and set a timer for 40-45 mins depending on how big the chicken breasts are; just keep an eye on them if you’re not sure and turn them so they soap up all the juices.
  • To prepare the salad I mixed the washed spinach, a big drizzle of olive oil, salt and pepper in a bowl. I then added in the feta and chopped olives leaving a few to place on the top of the plated at salad at the end and gently mixed it up with two forks.
  • Boil up some salted water and cook the potatoes. I chop them up super small so they cook faster so this will only take around 10-15 minutes. When they are done leave them in the sieve to cool a little saving some of the water in a pan below for mashing.
  • I’m sure you guys know how to mash potatoes but either way I add a large dollop of butter and of course salt and pepper and mash the hell out of them until they are smooth. Sometimes I add a little milk to make the mash creamier but it doesn’t really need it. I used some of the feta in this mash but it really made no difference to the taste so don’t bother with that.
  • At this point I switch the oven over to the grill with fan setting and move tray up to get some crispyness back into the Prosciutto, only for the last 4-5 minutes if that. Don’t forget to turn the breasts over so both sides of the Prosciutto are crispy.
  • When the timer goes take out the tray and let it sit whilst you serve up the mash and salad. This just means that the meat will soak up some of the remaining juices from the prosciutto. Plate up the rest and enjoy!

*Also I’m thinking about doing a baking post at some point so please let me know if that interests any of you :)

cropped-claudiafoxunderblog1.png

4 comments

  1. Looks delicious! I love making things like this, healthy and yummy – sometimes I stuff the chicken with boursin if I want a treat :) Love your blog x
    Jasmin Charlotte

    Like

    1. Thanks Jasmine! That is a great idea, I do love boursin :D x

      Like

  2. This is making me so hungry!! :D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha good then you can make it! :)

      Like

Feel free to comment below

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

